Vale Peugeot

November 9, 2016 at 12:46 | Posted in bicycles | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

img_9172Another in my series of happy tales about cycling. At least, I think it’s a happy tale. You may disagree after you read it.

Do you remember this bike? Well, you will remember that I sold it some years ago to a mate. And, since that fateful day, he has been riding it everywhere. A daily commute from Alembie Heights to the city. Tours of the inner west. And even a stint in Fiji, when he worked there for a year.

img_9175Well, the other day, I received some sad news. The wonderful old lady had pedalled her last. Whilst pulling up the Lilyfield Road hill, the frame snapped. Of course, my friend was adamant that this was due to the awesome amount of power his legs were undoubtedly transmitting through the frame. More likely the thirty-year old frame simply succumbed to corrosion.

Now, this is, I suppose, sad. But I prefer to look at the positive. This is a bike that gave at least two people the passion to ride. It’s a bike that was in use up until the end, rather than rotting away on a roadside verge after a council clean-up. It’s a bike that was loved, and will be remembered and replaced.

We went out for beers to celebrate the life of the Peugeot. Quite a lot of beers, actually. Now I just have to persuade my mate to replace her with a fixie…

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi,
    Sad news about the Peugeot Galibier, I have returned over the years to your blog and if I search on Peugeot Galibier, of course your old bike would come up. I still have my Galibier, same colour as yours too. I’m currently restoring a PSV10, she was purchased form an auction house and had become at some time an old ladies shopping trolley. I have most of the parts for her and she has been resprayed, just needs decals and then clear coat. Maybe she borke where she did because of cold setting the frame?? Anyway she has lasted a lot longer than many present day bikes ever will.
    Cheers David

    • Thanks for your thoughts. interesting observation re cold setting.
      Good luck with the restoration! Those old Peugeots still ride well.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

