Ouch.

December 31, 2015 at 13:04 | Posted in bicycles | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

drainsI like riding in wet weather. It’s fun, like being a kid again. Of course, you do have to take a bit more care. Wet roads can be slippery. Especially when cornering. Especially when cornering over a whole load of white paint and metal manhole covers. Wet metal is very very slippery.

Yes, you guessed it folks. I was bowling along in a world of my own, cornered over the metal drain, and down I went. I got a bruise to my hip, a graze to my elbow, and a large dent to my pride. The irony is that normally I’m cautious at that corner to avoid the drain covers, as they can be slippery even when dry. I suppose I could rant on about their poor placement, the hazard they create and the generally un-cycle friendly state of most of Australia’s roads. But then again, I did bowl over them in the wet when not paying attention.

It’s been over five years since I last fell off my bike*, so I’m a bit annoyed with myself. But I did get to test the ‘crash mode’ of my Fly6 camera, which auto-shuts off after a stack. So at least I know that works!

Happy New Year, everyone. May your 2016 be full of effortless and safe cycling, interesting books and delicious biscuits.

 

ouchvid

 

*excepting careless motorists driving into me…

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yes, but how is your bike?

    • Great question, and sorry for omitting this crucial information from the story!
      Bike is fine. Bit of a scuff on the brake hood and bar tape, but otherwise no damage. I was able to finish my ride home no problems.

  2. A fall every now and then is a good thing to reset yourself and remind yourself where the limits are, like the blog by the way.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

