Rainbows of Death and blue shoes…

July 14, 2015 at 13:14 | Posted in bicycles | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

rainbowofdeathAfter recent heavy rains, there has been a lot of these on the roads recently – iridescent patches of oil. They are often quite pretty to look at, although of course they can be slippery. Not that I’ve really had any problems with them, but one contributor to Sydney Cyclist memorably called them ‘rainbows of death’, which is certainly poetic, if rather hyperbolic.  Every time I see one I am reminded of the phrase…

In an unconnected matter, I needed some new cleats recently, so went to my LBS to buy some. Up until now, I’ve always used the yellow ones. These are the ones that have the most ‘float’; which is to say you can blue shoeswiggle your feet around in the pedals even when clipped in. However, with my new pedals I’ve been struggling to get the cleat positioning correct such that  it’s comfortable to pedal, but I can also unclip easily. It was suggested to me that, possibly counter-intuitively, cleat placement was actually easier with cleats that have less ‘float’. So I bought some blue ones, which have a little bit of float, but not as much. And, lo and behold, it turns out to be true – they are more comfortable and also easier to get out of the pedals. Hurrah!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

