The fixie is back

July 11, 2012 at 20:58 | Posted in bicycles | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Well, my beloved fixie has emerged from rocket surgery and is back on the road, after all the issues I had with the forks, and then various delays getting it sorted.

Thanks to the nice people at Salsa and Dirtworks I have a shiny new set of forks; after hearing my tale of woe they came through and replaced them for free, even though they were out of warranty. Thanks guys, really appreciate it!

The front rim was almost worn through and the front hub bearings were also shot beyond repair. So in the end I got a completely new front wheel too. This means the whole front of the bike has now been replaced – and it’s especially obvious as replacement forks were only available in black. I suspect this means anyone looking at my bike will probably tut tut to themselves and mutter ‘must have had a stack and trashed the front of his bike’. Still, I can live with that, as it’s great to be back in the saddle.

I went the long way round to get to work the other morning, to have a bit more of a ride, and all was well – just so much fun blasting up the hills (as opposed to crawling up on the Radish!). Hurrah, I love my fixie. Ride and Smile, everyone!!!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hey im new in town. i havent got a bike. but im looking for a group to ride with, perferrably fixies. i hope you could provide me
    with some information (: ive heard about the sydney sunday sessions but im not sure if they still ride please get back to me thank you(: x

  2. Welcome to Sydney!
    There used to be a Thursday morning fixie club that did laps of Centennial Park, but it’s lapsed in recent times.
    You could try connecting with people here: http://www.sydneycyclist.com – lots of rides in the calendar, as well as nice people to chat to. There’s even a fixie group.

  3. thank you so much (: that was really helpful x


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

