Peanut Brownie Cookie

May 16, 2012 at 11:57 | Posted in biscuits | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here’s a thing. Arnott’s hardly make any biscuits with nuts in. Strange really; you’d think this iconic Australian company would do more to showcase the macadamia nut, Australia’s only native contribution to commercial food crops. But nuts remain absent from most of their range. This is probably a good thing, at least in the Chillikebab household, as Mrs Chillikebab is allergic to nuts.

Perhaps Arnott’s don’t feel the need to add more nuts, as their legions of biscuit eaters are nutty enough already. I know I’ve been called a ‘biscuit nut’ often enough. (Oooh, that was lame, wasn’t it? Remind me to omit that joke from the premium, paid subscription version of my blog.)

Anyway, this week we look at one of the few in the range that does feature nuts – the Peanut Brownie Cookie. This is the third in the trio of ‘Homebake’ cookie range, the others being ‘Chocolate Chip’ and ‘Chocolate Chip Fudge’.
They present just like the others in the range; in a large bag, covered in a dusting of crumbs. They are a bit darker than the others in the range, but otherwise look very similar. Large pieces of peanut are not in evidence – what peanut there has been chopped into small pieces.

Now, when I think of brownies I think of something decadent, moreish and – most importantly – soft and squidgy. So I was interested to see how Arnott’s would incorporate this essence of brownie-ness into these biscuits.

I’m sad to report that the answer to that question is ‘they don’t’. These biscuits have exactly the same crunchy texture as the Chocolate Chip Cookie variety. They do have a chocolately taste, but without the chocolate chips of the original this is somewhat understated. And the peanuts really don’t do much – they are close to undetectable, which is a pity.

So these biscuits don’t really deliver on the promise. They are quite OK, and pleasant enough, but seeing as they lack both ‘brownie’ and ‘peanut’ characteristics, it’s hard to rate them really highly. On balance, probably better to stick with the regular Choc Chip variety. I’ll give these a six out of ten.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I know this post is from last year, but i had to tell you that I don’t think Peanut Brownie biscuits are meant to be like american brownie at all. I had homemade peanut brownies when I was young (the 80’s) and I have seen recipes in my grandma’s cooking books (from the 40’s) for these biscuits. I don’t know when they are from but I am willing to bet they predate american brownies.

    Aside from this, there are actually 5 types of farmbake biscuits in Australia and 8 in NZ. It’s my impression, from having grown up in NZ that Farmbake cookies were in NZ before they were in Australia since I remember eating farmbake cookies when I was very young. Probably Arnott’s brought the brand.

    Anyway, it just seems strange to me that you are reviewing how well the biscuits match the american variation when I’m pretty certain the biscuits were being sold before the american version even became popular over here.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

