A new skill

May 7, 2012 at 10:31 | Posted in bicycles | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve been working on this for years. It’s something I wanted to be able to do – but not enough such that I went out to practise for hours until I could do it. However, I’ve been gradually getting better, and I think I am now good enough to be able announce <drumroll> that I can at last do a trackstand.

I’m not brilliant, and certainly can’t do all the no-handed, sitting down things of the real masters. Neither can I match the nonchalant way those really good at it chat to each other as they wait – it still takes so much concentration that any attempt at speaking invariably results in me losing my balance.

However, for the most part I can now draw up at a red traffic light, and then stay pretty much motionless (with just a little frantic rocking too and fro) until the light goes green – even if I have to wait most of the phase. I don’t know why, but there’s something childishly pleasing about not having to put your foot down when you stop. And I have noticed that my cleats are wearing out less quickly (although the fact that my commute no longer takes me up the SHB steps is I think a more pertinent reason).

Of course, I can only do this on the fixie. I’ve yet to manage anything close to balancing on the cargo bike. Although I’d like to be able to; I think that would be very cool – especially if it was loaded up.

I suspect that many of my readers have now added ‘poseur’ to the list of my characteristics. Or perhaps something else less printable. Whatever. Somewhere, deep down, you have to admit that you’d like to be able to do it too.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s it. I’m gonna start practicing in the garage tonight!

  2. Congratulations! I look like a cow walking on ice when I try that.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

