New Years Resolutions

January 30, 2012 at 09:27 | Posted in bicycles | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

I make the same New Years Resolution each year. I vow that I will somehow find more time to practise my trombone, ride my bike more, and eat fewer biscuits. I never succeed, but at least it means I still have something to aim for the following year; after all if I were to actually manage it in 2012, what would I do in 2013?

One resolution I don’t have to make, of course, is to ride to work more often, because I already ride to work all the time. However, it seems some people are considering it for 2012. I have heard a few people in the office talking about it; including a hilarious conversation between someone who gets the train from Paddington, vs someone who drives from Newtown. Both of them were bemoaning the time it took them to get to work (up to an astonishing 45 minutes!). The office, by the way, is in the CBD – probably ten minutes by bike to both locations. Heck, I could probably give one of them a lift home on the Radish faster than they manage it today.

But is all this talk turning into action? Well, it seems like it might be. The combination of the new CBD bike lanes (thanks Clover!) and the need to reverse the effects of seasonal over-indulgences seems to be working, and the bike rack in the basement car park has been full every day since early January. It’s great to see, and I hope they all keep it up.

Of course, it’s still really rather pitiful; there are about thirty spots to park bikes, and the building houses perhaps three thousand people. So that’s only about one percent of them arriving by bike. However it’s a start, and hopefully momentum will continue to grow.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. May there will always be enough parking as more people in your neighbourhood bike for transportation with the new bike lanes.

  2. I work at a school in Scotland with 100 staff and 1400 pupils.

    I’m the only cyclist BUT I do that every day, all year. In ice and snow I use a Longstaff two wheel drive tricycle with ice spike tyres. Most of the year I use Bromptons.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

