In need of attention

December 12, 2011 at 22:06 | Posted in bicycles | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

It seems my idea of getting a new bike for Christmas isn’t going to happen. I took the fixie in for a service, and it seems all is not well. I knew it would need some work; after all I ride it a lot in all weathers. However, the laundry list of things that need doing is quite long.

It needs a new drivetrain. This I was expecting; the chainwheel is four years old and the back sprocket and chain are probably three.  The tyres are also bald, but then the front one is the one I got with the bike four years ago, so it must have done well over 20,000 puncture-free kilometres.

The front rim also needs replacing. This I also suspected, as all the wet weather riding takes a toll, and I’m a shocker for cleaning my bikes, and digging all the bits out of the brake pads (which I read somewhere you are supposed to do. I never have.) The hub bearings are also shot, so new ones are required.

However, the bolt from the blue was the report that the forks are showing signs of cracking. The eagle-eyed repair tech spotted it under the paint. Oh dear. He’s going to try to get Salsa to replace it under warranty, but the forks only have a three year warranty (frame is five years), and the bike is four years old.

So this all could get rather expensive. I have to do it though. I love my fixie. But perhaps the new bike will have to wait a little longer…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

