Getting a divorce and selling the wife…

January 9, 2011 at 10:10 | Posted in bicycles | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I decided to sell the wife over Christmas. It call came about because my head was turned; I was led astray by a newer, sexier model. Yes, I was browsing around a bike shop before Christmas and I saw the Kona Sutra. It was love at first sight. I admired the sloping top tube, the sturdy lines, the disc brakes. A true touring bike, itching for an adventure. And I wanted one. I really wanted one.

I then spent some time thinking. The wife is pretty much a touring bike. She has a study rack, and takes panniers. And with a ten month old baby, I’m hardly likely to be heading off into the hills for an adventure any time soon. But I realy want a new bike. Perhaps not the Sutra, but something. I now have the Peugeot back in good shape for ‘road’ cycling (what ever that is), and have the Radish for grocery getting, so the wife only really gets used when I need to take stuff into work.

I came to my conclusion. I wanted a divorce. For whatever reason, the Casseroll triple wasn’t doing it for me; I wanted a new bike and something had to go to make room. We’d had a lot of good times together, enjoyed it while it lasted, but it was time to move on.

Accordingly, I put her up for auction on eBay. For a great price (or so I thought). The days ticked by and there were no bids. I got a lot of watchers, though. ‘A-ha!’ I thought. Evidently seasoned eBay snipers wre out in force to snaffle a bargain at the last moment.

The auction entered its final minutes. Still nothing. The final minute. Goodness, these snipers really do leave it late! The final few seconds – come on!

And then it was over. Zero bids. The wife was unsold. Wrong price? Wrong time of year? Wrong description? Who knows. But the itch is still there, so sometime soon I need to find someone who will take her on, love, cherish and ride her. If that person could be you, please let me know!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Al Walsh. Al Walsh said: RT @chillikebab: Getting a divorce and selling the wife… http://wp.me/ppsF3-dl […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

