Granita

December 20, 2010 at 15:17 | Posted in biscuits | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

The Granita is kind of the flash cousin of the Shredded Wheatmeal. It’s a digestive biscuit, and it includes whole wheat. However, it’s much sweeter and less worthy that the aforementioned biscuit, and requires much less chewing.

It’s quite crumbly, and indeed this feature is exploited in cooking, as the Granita is the preferred Australian biscuit to use to make a cheesecake base. Mrs Chillikebab, despite my exhortations, continues to buy very expensive imported McVities Digestives for this task. You can take the girl out of the UK, but you can’t mess with her cheesecake. Although I have to say Mrs Chillikebab does make a mean cheesecake, so perhaps I shouldn’t complain too much.

Now, at this point I have a confession to make. When I reviewed the Chocolate Wheaten, I airily declared that it was, in fact, a chocolate coated Granita. Well, I’m not too proud to admit I was wrong. My memory was obviously deceiving me (and my only defence is that I hadn’t had a Granita for quite a while when I sampled the Chocolate Wheatens) as they are different. Not much different, to be sure – but the Granita contains flakes of wheat which are not present in the Chocolate Wheaten. Which is kind of ironic, when you think about it. Oh well, you live and learn; I should have trusted the integrity of the Arnott’s naming conventions.

What else is there to say about the Granita? Well, like many biscuits of this style it dunks very well, although you do need to ensure you don’t hold it in the tea too long, as it can crumble away as the tea waves erode the soft surface. It is stamped with the word ‘GRANITA’, along with two ‘A’s, presumably for Arnott’s. And it was introduced, I am reliably informed, sometime in the 1960s.

It’s actually quite a tasty biscuit, in a plain sort of way. I’d give this an eight out of ten.

 

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

