Moving house and the Radish…

November 28, 2010 at 14:01 | Posted in bicycles | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

We are moving house in two weeks time, which is very exciting. We’re only moving to the next suburb, so staying in the Inner West, but to a place with a bit more space. Most excitingly, the new house has a bicycle lane right outside the front door! The down side is that it doesn’t have much outdoor space, so I’m not quite sure how I’m going to store all my bikes (the current place has a decent sized shed in the garden).

Anyway, we are in the throes of packing up our stuff, and needed a bunch of boxes. I worked out how many boxes we would need, after Mrs Chillikebab told me she didn’t want to get involved, and I should just go and get whatever I thought we needed. I told her how many I was planning to get, and she looked incredulous and said ‘we’ll need more than that’. So I added half as many again to my list.

But how to go and pick them up? Well, it was a lovely day, and the box place isn’t far, and I hate using the car – so it seemed the Radish was the go. I rode down to Kennards, and ordered what I needed. ‘Do you want a hand putting them in the car?’, the assistant asked.

‘Actually, I’m on a bicycle,’ I replied. I waited for the incredulous reaction, but she took it all in her stride.

‘Oh, right-o’, she said. ‘Is it a Schwinn? I’ve got a lovely Schwinn beach cruiser’.

It’s marvellous when people don’t see bikes as unusual, and mention that they cycle themselves. Although I have to admit I was just a little bit disappointed with such a blasé reaction.

We took my twenty-odd flat pack boxes, my roll of bubble wrap, butchers paper, tape dispensers and so on out to the bike, and I loaded it up. All fairly easy, except I’d left one of the tie-down straps at home so it was a little bit touch and go if just one strap would be long enough. I just managed to feed a couple of centimetres into the clasp, however, and then was able to pull it tight.

The ride home was uneventful, although it did seem car drivers were giving my rather precarious-looking load a wider berth than usual!

(I did suggest to Mrs Chillikebab that perhaps we could manage without removalists, and I could just take the furniture and boxes one item at a time on the Radish. But all I got in return was a withering look.)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

