The mighty Lemon Crisp

February 1, 2010 at 17:53 | Posted in biscuits | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Yes, folks, here it is. The biscuit review you’ve all been waiting for – Arnott’s Lemon Crisp.

The Lemon Crisp is part of Arnott’s cream biscuit line which includes Orange Slices and Shortbread Creams. The packaging is similar; the rectangular pack contains 19 biscuits, which are presented in a plastic tray to prevent them getting damaged. So far, all pretty standard stuff – this is going to be a pretty regular lemony biscuit, you are thinking. Well, the Lemon Crisp is far from that; it has an extraordinary secret that is not immediately obvious on visual inspection. But we will come to this…

Each biscuit is about 60mm long and 32mm wide; the overall depth is 13mm, with the filling comprising 2.5mm of that thickness (quick maths question; assuming each biscuit in the sandwich is of equal thickness, how thick is just one of the sandwich biscuits? First to answer receives a pack of Lemon Crisps through the post). The are quite attractive, with an even, light-brown bake that is glistens slightly with what looks like sugar. The pack suggests the filling is kind of piped by hand in attractive swirls; in reality it’s more evenly applied. Perhaps the package photography was done on an engineering sample that was created by hand, prior to the mechanisation of production.

It is when you eat a Lemon Crisp that it’s secret is revealed. As you bring it closer to your mouth, you can smell the attractive* lemony fragrance. As you bite into it, the biscuit crumbles quite easily; the texture is akin to a TUC biscuit (for the English readers) – very open textured. And, just then, it hits you. They are not sprinkled with sugar. It is salt.

This, I have to say, is biscuitry genius. Whoever the person was who, on finalising the recipe for the Lemon Crisp, said – ‘Hmmm, that’s not bad – but what it needs is salt’, well, I bow to them. It is truly inspired. The filling is creamy and sweet with a distinct lemon tang (which comes from real lemon oil, rather than artificial flavour). The crispy biscuit is sweet and moreish. But the salt. Oh my goodness, the salt. It just defies description. It is awesome.

After you have finished your Lemon Crisp, you lick your lips. They have the merest hint of salt on them, whilst the lemon flavour lingers on the palate. And you reach for another one. And then another. You have to. I’m surprised Arnott’s aren’t forced to put an ‘addictive substance’ warning on these biscuits, and restrict sales to minors.

Well, I have to end there. I can no longer type; the biscuits are open, and I am going to retire to a chair to eat the entire packet. I know, I should be strong. But in the face of such a sensory onslaught, I am helpless. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm……

_______________________________________

*Mrs Chillikebab hates the smell of them. Says they smell like washing up liquid. Bah.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You have intrigued me. I think I shall try some.

  2. OMG you have described it perfectly!!!!Have never been in love with a cookie as much as this and I am not even a cookie person! Hats off to the person who thought of the salt!!!!!!!!!!! I got my first pack all the way from New Zealand and they don’t sell it here in Malaysia. HELP!!!

  3. These are soooooo delicious, my favourite biscuit easily. So different but oh so nice. Whoever created them is a genius!

  4. I don’t usually eat sweet biscuits, but when it comes to lemon crisps I can’t stop. My hubby had three out of the packet and I ate the rest. This often happens. They are so addictive and morish. Yum Yum

    • In my opinion they’re the worst biscuit ever. But hey, that leaves more for you guys that like them.

  5. I LOVE THE SALT TOO ITS SO ADDICTING.

  6. Hi there

    In answer to the thickness of each lemon crisp biscuit – is it 5.25mm? And I’d like to add that they are a favourite of mine too. Good ol’ Arnotts!!

    • Oooh, well done! You win a pack of Lemon Crisps. Drop me a note with your address and I’ll mail them over to you!

  7. I always fail the Lemon Crisp self-control test: once I open the pack I can’t stop until their all gone.

  8. […] whole innovation to some patissier is clearly misplaced. Arnott’s have had a far superior, salted sweet biscuit on the market for many, many years – Zumbo is just a Jonny-come-lately to this whole thing, […]

  9. well always loved them but bought a packet today and you must of changed the recipe they dont taste the same they are not as lemony so very disappointed in them does anyone else think the same

  10. Lemon crisps are the best!! I’ve converted many to their awesome lemony and salty greatness! Wonderful review! They are also vegan!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

