I was called a d*ckhead today

July 3, 2009 at 22:33 | Posted in bicycles | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Riding home through peak hour traffic today, I was called a d*ckhead by another cyclist.  For sure, I was going through a red light – into an intersection that was completely gridlocked. I slowed down rather unexpectedly during this manoeuvre, as a car I was expecting to move forward didn’t.

Evidently in so doing I got in the way of another cyclist coming through on green, who shot straight through in a left-turn only lane before mounting the footpath at some speed. Rather hilariously, a bit later on he pulled out in front of me without looking. I was on the footpath too by this time.

Red lights, turning lanes, footpaths, going to fast, not looking. Hardly exemplary behaviour from either of us, really. But on the other hand fairly normal Friday peak hour riding. I just thought his comment, delivered with some vitriol, was a but unnecessary. We’re all in this together. Wouldn’t a more friendly ‘look out, mate!’ have been better?

Let’s all be pleasant to each other, and perhaps tolerant of each others mistakes.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

