Getting older…

January 2, 2009 at 22:50 | Posted in bicycles | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

After being admonished for not riding the other day, this morning I made it out for a ride. Because I didn’t get into gear early enough, I ended up leaving after it had gone 9am. I guess it’s for this reason I didn’t see many other cyclists, as you are all dedicated enough to be up and out and have returned by then…

So I meandered around for a while rather aimlessly; after various excursions by the waterfront around Double Bay I ended up heading to Watson’s Bay via the Old South Head Rd. I had a rest when I got there, as I was rather tired, so I sat and looked at the view for a little while.

Then I headed back via the New South Head Rd. The climb out of Watson’s Bay was hard work, but even harder work was the not especially big hill coming into the city on Craigend St; this I really struggled with. Indeed, I was actually finding it hard to breathe going up here; I’ve never had asthma, but it felt (and I sounded) rather like that as I struggled up the hill. I made it to the top, and tried to catch my breath, still gasping away. I managed to get a really good lungful of air into me, and then, almost instantly, the breathless feeling went away, and I could breathe easily again. Very strange; the lights went green and I got going again, and felt much better, and much fresher. Could it have been exercise-induced asthma brought on by the heat and poor air quality? I don’t know, but it wasn’t very pleasant.

It’s also possible that I’m just not as fit was I was. I’m getting older (I turn 38 tomorrow!), and maybe it shows. Funnily enough, I did a very similar route to the one I took today after Xmas last year (or possible the year before; Bikely rather annoyingly doesn’t show the year when a route was added). I did it on the same bike (although it’s possible that at that point I had it set up as a freewheel singlespeed, rather than a fixie), but last time also managed to detour to Bondi and spin around Centennial a few times, and as I recall didn’t really stop for more than a drink and a snack at Watson’s Bay.

Am I getting too old? Is the mistress (as I wondered about at the end of this blog) getting too hot for me to handle? Are my days of blasting up Heartbreaker Hill on a 48×17 gear numbered? Or do I just need to get out and ride more (which, to be honest, I haven’t been doing as much of over the past few months)?

I guess 2010 will reveal all!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

