My Bikes

January 1, 2009 at 00:48 | Posted in bicycles | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

Everyone should ride a bicycle. If everyone rode a bike, the world would be a friendlier place.

I have two bikes:

A Salsa Casseroll

My fixed-gear commuter

My fixed-gear commuter

This is what I usually ride to work on. It’s set up as a fixed-gear, which means you can’t stop pedalling. Sounds mad, but it’s lots of fun. And it makes going up hills easier (kind of). I love this bike. It makes me smile every time I ride it. And it looks cool.

A Peugeot road bike

Old skool road bike

Old skool road bike

This is the bike I bought several years ago to start riding to work on. I hadn’t ridden for years, so didn’t want to spend a lot. It was very cheap on ebay! Of course, I rediscovered my love of cycling (why did I ever stop? Ahh, the pernicious seduction of the motor car!) and rode it to death. When I bought it it had all original parts, and I suppose could have been done up as a vintage restoration job. But I just thashed it to work and back for months, ans as bits fell of it I replaced them. So much so that the only original bits now left are the frame, forks and front derailer.

When I took these pictures, I also recorded the serial numbers of them. Lots of bikes get stolen, and then recovered by the police, but can’t be reunited with their owners because the serial number is pretty much the only thing the police note down, other than a very general description (eg ‘yellow mountain bike’) – making it hard for them to check if they’ve got your bike, even if you have a detailed description.

Y7C5 06162

Y7C5 06162

M7091468

M7091468

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. bought my own bike because of this!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

